Welcome to the IMTalk - Internet Marketing & SEO Forum.
  • Login:
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22
  1. #1
    onkar's Avatar
    onkar is offline IM & SEO Mumbler onkar will become famous soon enough onkar will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    312
    Thanks Given
    60
    Thanked 90 Times in 72 Posts

    Wordpress sidebar/footer issue

    Hello friends I have wordpress blog issue. The foot and sidebar contents have interchange their places. Please find the images attached this post.
    wbd-1.jpgwbd-2.jpg
    Kindly suggest met the way to solve the issue.

  2. #2
    stupidpenguin's Avatar
    stupidpenguin is offline IM & SEO Mumbler stupidpenguin will become famous soon enough stupidpenguin will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cape Washington, Antarctica
    Posts
    285
    Thanks Given
    24
    Thanked 105 Times in 71 Posts
    Hey! I use this theme on one of my sites, too. It's clean. Not sure how good it is for seo, though.

    As for your problem... Did you edit the single.php and/or page.php? If so, try and reload the theme pre-changes. If not, Can you try to change view to single page view and not latest blog posts for the homepage in general->settings. Let us know if that helps. I see you have the custom search on top under header. Is that in header.php? Did you put it in it's own <div>? If not, try that. PM for more help...

  3. #3
    wink0r's Avatar
    wink0r is offline Moderator wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    2,183
    Thanks Given
    941
    Thanked 651 Times in 491 Posts
    Is this the theme you have been using? If so, and the change happened after some time, what files have you worked in recently?

    Some things to check:
    Code:
    The bottom of the main index template (index.php) should look something like:
    
    <?php endif; ?>
    
    	</div>
    
    <?php get_sidebar(); ?>
    
    <?php get_footer(); ?>
    
    The top of the sidebar template (sidebar.php) should be:
    
    <div id="sidebar">
    
    And the top of the footer template (footer.php) should be:
    
    <hr />
    <div id="footer">
    (although the <hr /> is probably optional depending on the template)
    
    The relevant css in my theme is:
    
    #sidebar {
    	font: 1em 'Lucida Grande', Verdana, Arial, Sans-Serif;
    	padding: 10px !important;
    	margin-left: 740px;
    	width: 200px;
    	background-color: #ddebbb;
    	}
    #footer {
    	border: none;
    	padding: 5px;
    	margin: 0 auto;
            font-weight: bold;
    	width: 950px;
    	clear: both;
            }
    If the order of the last entries on the index.php were changed it might display in the way that your screen shot shows. My theme would be more broken by that change, but that is in the css (fixed width in the footer).

    The order of the html code produced is important. Floated divs must be listed first and then 'normal flow' items in the order to be displayed. With my theme the main content area (.narrowcolumn) is floated left and so the code comes first in the html.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to wink0r For This Useful Post:


  5. #4
    onkar's Avatar
    onkar is offline IM & SEO Mumbler onkar will become famous soon enough onkar will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    312
    Thanks Given
    60
    Thanked 90 Times in 72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stupidpenguin View Post
    Hey! I use this theme on one of my sites, too. It's clean. Not sure how good it is for seo, though.

    As for your problem... Did you edit the single.php and/or page.php? If so, try and reload the theme pre-changes. If not, Can you try to change view to single page view and not latest blog posts for the homepage in general->settings. Let us know if that helps. I see you have the custom search on top under header. Is that in header.php? Did you put it in it's own <div>? If not, try that. PM for more help...

    Quote Originally Posted by wink0r View Post
    Is this the theme you have been using? If so, and the change happened after some time, what files have you worked in recently?

    Some things to check:
    Code:
    The bottom of the main index template (index.php) should look something like:
    
    <?php endif; ?>
    
    	</div>
    
    <?php get_sidebar(); ?>
    
    <?php get_footer(); ?>
    
    The top of the sidebar template (sidebar.php) should be:
    
    <div id="sidebar">
    
    And the top of the footer template (footer.php) should be:
    
    <hr />
    <div id="footer">
    (although the <hr /> is probably optional depending on the template)
    
    The relevant css in my theme is:
    
    #sidebar {
    	font: 1em 'Lucida Grande', Verdana, Arial, Sans-Serif;
    	padding: 10px !important;
    	margin-left: 740px;
    	width: 200px;
    	background-color: #ddebbb;
    	}
    #footer {
    	border: none;
    	padding: 5px;
    	margin: 0 auto;
            font-weight: bold;
    	width: 950px;
    	clear: both;
            }
    If the order of the last entries on the index.php were changed it might display in the way that your screen shot shows. My theme would be more broken by that change, but that is in the css (fixed width in the footer).

    The order of the html code produced is important. Floated divs must be listed first and then 'normal flow' items in the order to be displayed. With my theme the main content area (.narrowcolumn) is floated left and so the code comes first in the html.

    The issue still exists even after the theme has been changed. You can have a look(I've change to other theme so that you can have a good idea about the issue).
    Code:
    http://webblogdaily.com
    So I think changes must me made in other files.

    Thanks in advance ,
    onkar

  6. #5
    wink0r's Avatar
    wink0r is offline Moderator wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    2,183
    Thanks Given
    941
    Thanked 651 Times in 491 Posts
    You are missing a </div> tag probably in the index.php file. I added a </div> tag just before the sidebar and everything snapped into place.

    It might look like this with the red tag needing to be added:
    Code:
    </div>
    
    <?php get_sidebar(); ?>
    In other notes, it appears that you have two SEO plugins. Disable one of them. Your meta keyword tag is stuffed! Loose about 95% of those keywords. Google may not use the meta keywords, but they might notice that there are far too many and look poorly on it.

  7. #6
    onkar's Avatar
    onkar is offline IM & SEO Mumbler onkar will become famous soon enough onkar will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    312
    Thanks Given
    60
    Thanked 90 Times in 72 Posts
    @wink0r,

    thanks buddy you posts have helped me to solve some issues. I think another look from you can solve the entire issue. Also,please do look for posts also as I think they have been solved.
    Thanks,
    onkar

  8. #7
    wink0r's Avatar
    wink0r is offline Moderator wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    2,183
    Thanks Given
    941
    Thanked 651 Times in 491 Posts
    I have looked at the code and the css and have not really identified the problem. I would try adding overflow: hidden; to the css for the #content selector. Something is clearing the content div and preventing the sidebar from taking its position at the top of the right side. I don't see it in the css, but the version that I made work does have the overflow: hidden; rule for the content div.

  9. #8
    wink0r's Avatar
    wink0r is offline Moderator wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    2,183
    Thanks Given
    941
    Thanked 651 Times in 491 Posts
    Don't bother with the overflow: hidden;, I don't think it will help. The sidebar data disappears in my web editor when I try that. I have tried several things to no avail.

    I would try disabling plugins, either disable all and if the theme works enable them one at a time, checking after enabling each one. Alternatively you could disable plugins beginning with your most recent additions and checking to see if/when the problem clears.

    There can be compatibility problems with some themes and there can be problems when certain plugs are combined (either might work fine but not both).

  10. #9
    stupidpenguin's Avatar
    stupidpenguin is offline IM & SEO Mumbler stupidpenguin will become famous soon enough stupidpenguin will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cape Washington, Antarctica
    Posts
    285
    Thanks Given
    24
    Thanked 105 Times in 71 Posts
    I know this sounds basic, but this usually solves all my complex theme problems... Download the original theme without changes and open the css up in different windows and compare the code. I usually find the / or ending > that I copied wrong or something. Do you have a copy of the original theme? I figured it was some kind of div problem. I did have a look at my own main index page, but I have it on static page mode and not latest posts. Switched to try out recent posts mode and no problems with sidebar.

    On your page, I can only see the custom search code being a problem and the Facebook share button. Try turning that off and see? Is that a social plugin or code that was placed in the "loop"?

  11. #10
    stronywwwlublin's Avatar
    stronywwwlublin is offline IM & SEO Small Talker stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    601
    Thanks Given
    77
    Thanked 192 Times in 106 Posts
    simply try to close all </div> objects before footer

  12. #11
    wink0r's Avatar
    wink0r is offline Moderator wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    2,183
    Thanks Given
    941
    Thanked 651 Times in 491 Posts
    Just for drill I ran one of my blogs through the validator and came up clean. Hurray for my theme!!

    @stupidpenguin - Could you run the blog using that theme through the validator to compare results? Thanks!

  13. #12
    stupidpenguin's Avatar
    stupidpenguin is offline IM & SEO Mumbler stupidpenguin will become famous soon enough stupidpenguin will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cape Washington, Antarctica
    Posts
    285
    Thanks Given
    24
    Thanked 105 Times in 71 Posts
    That thing found more errors than on your page!!! WAHAAHA! I'll compare a little later to see what's unique...

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to stupidpenguin For This Useful Post:


  15. #13
    wink0r's Avatar
    wink0r is offline Moderator wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    2,183
    Thanks Given
    941
    Thanked 651 Times in 491 Posts
    It might be informative to run a fresh clean install using the theme, without modifications or plugins, through the validator. I am beginning to suspect there may be a boobie trap or three built in.

  16. #14
    stronywwwlublin's Avatar
    stronywwwlublin is offline IM & SEO Small Talker stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    601
    Thanks Given
    77
    Thanked 192 Times in 106 Posts
    generally peoples dont bulid websitres adherence to standards, today browsers are more "intelligent" and can "fix" a lot of corde errors.

    Search on Youtube "browsers war" - complete history memorial about early ages of internet. this film able understund to You: why standards is important, why netscape browser dead, and why IE should be dead

    W3C validator shows errors standard what You specify on page(XHTML 1.0 Transitional), but show also some omitted tags in temptate

  17. #15
    onkar's Avatar
    onkar is offline IM & SEO Mumbler onkar will become famous soon enough onkar will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    312
    Thanks Given
    60
    Thanked 90 Times in 72 Posts
    hey friends I have disabled all the plugins still the same issue

  18. #16
    stronywwwlublin's Avatar
    stronywwwlublin is offline IM & SEO Small Talker stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    601
    Thanks Given
    77
    Thanked 192 Times in 106 Posts
    demo this theme works fine:
    You can download this theme again from:
    As I say You omnited few </div>s, Go to learn some about bulding websites:

  19. #17
    wink0r's Avatar
    wink0r is offline Moderator wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    2,183
    Thanks Given
    941
    Thanked 651 Times in 491 Posts
    this film able understund to You: why standards is important, why netscape browser dead, and why IE should be dead
    In some ways I think that IE-6 made me better at coding sites. The web editor that I use is based on the Gecko engine, so if it works in the editor it works in FF, but at that time checking in IE (and 6 was king at the time) would often make you dig back into the code, or more often the css, to allow IE to show people your designs.

  20. #18
    onkar's Avatar
    onkar is offline IM & SEO Mumbler onkar will become famous soon enough onkar will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    312
    Thanks Given
    60
    Thanked 90 Times in 72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stronywwwlublin View Post
    demo this theme works fine:


    You can download this theme again from:


    As I say You omnited few </div>s, Go to learn some about bulding websites:
    I have downloaded & re-installed the theme, but still same issue.

  21. #19
    stronywwwlublin's Avatar
    stronywwwlublin is offline IM & SEO Small Talker stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    601
    Thanks Given
    77
    Thanked 192 Times in 106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by onkar View Post
    I have downloaded & re-installed the theme, but still same issue.
    I download and intstall too, and theme works fine. check again code in widgets and top banner section with google CSE addon for omnited divs

    ---------- Post added 06-19-2012 at 06:16 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by wink0r View Post
    In some ways I think that IE-6 made me better at coding sites...
    I think You change Your opinion if you watch this documentary film

  22. #20
    onkar's Avatar
    onkar is offline IM & SEO Mumbler onkar will become famous soon enough onkar will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    312
    Thanks Given
    60
    Thanked 90 Times in 72 Posts
    @stronywwwlublin can you kindly send me the exact plugin that is to be installed . Keeping fingers crossed so that all issues will be sorted


 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-09-2012, 11:56 PM
  2. Canonical Issue
    By paddy in forum On-Page SEO & Content Creation
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-09-2011, 03:31 PM
  3. Contextual and Sidebar link
    By herschelx in forum On-Page SEO & Content Creation
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-08-2011, 06:24 AM
  4. is forum got issue.
    By crazycat in forum Coffee Break - General Talk
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-16-2010, 10:11 AM
  5. Anybody know how to add footer columns in a wordpress theme
    By garish in forum CMS, Blogs, Blogging, Forums...
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-30-2010, 10:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts