Welcome to the IMTalk - Internet Marketing & SEO Forum.
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    WebHostWala is offline IM & SEO Whisperer WebHostWala is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    India
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Given
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Post How to set Browser leverage caching

    Anyone knows how to set browser leverage caching for the below given files?

    http://weloveiconfonts.com/api/?family=entypo (15 minutes)
    http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js (30 minutes)

    I get these above links while checked in PageSpeed Insights.
    Webhostwala -Shared | Reseller | VPS | Cloud

  2. #2
    wink0r's Avatar
    wink0r is offline Moderator wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    2,163
    Thanks Given
    898
    Thanked 646 Times in 487 Posts

  3. #3
    jasonhalle is offline IM & SEO Whisperer jasonhalle is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    70
    Thanks Given
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    First of all why you need browser leverage caching enable, it reduces the load on your web server, which ultimately reduces the load time for your users. To enable browser caching you need to edit your HTTP headers to set expiry times for certain types of files. You want to be careful when enabling browser caching as if you set the parameters too long on certain files, users might not be getting the fresh version of your website after updates.

  4. #4
    WebHostWala is offline IM & SEO Whisperer WebHostWala is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    India
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Given
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    [QUOTE=jasonhalle;108410You want to be careful when enabling browser caching as if you set the parameters too long on certain files, users might not be getting the fresh version of your website after updates.[/QUOTE]



    Is it OK if I set expiry in the below manner ?

    <IfModule mod_expires.c>
    ExpiresActive On
    ExpiresByType image/jpg "access 1 year"
    ExpiresByType image/jpeg "access 1 year"
    ExpiresByType image/gif "access 1 year"
    ExpiresByType image/png "access 1 year"
    ExpiresByType text/css "access 1 month"
    ExpiresByType application/javascript "access 1 month"
    ExpiresByType image/x-icon "access 1 year"
    ExpiresDefault "access 1 month"
    </IfModule>

    Please suggest if anything is wrong in this.
    Webhostwala -Shared | Reseller | VPS | Cloud


 

Similar Threads

  1. Case Study: How to Leverage Other Peopleís Businesses
    By Joozed in forum Link Building General Talk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-25-2015, 10:57 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-07-2013, 03:34 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-05-2013, 05:43 AM
  4. How Long Does Caching Take After URL Changes
    By JudderMan in forum General SEO Talk
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-06-2011, 04:37 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts