Welcome to the IMTalk - Internet Marketing & SEO Forum.
  • Login:
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    vincent is offline IM & SEO Quiet One vincent is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Given
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Help needed regarding 301 redirect

    I wish to change my domain name like example.com to domain.com. Example.com has 10 pages with around 200 backlinks to each page, can someone explain me how to do 301 permanent redirect to domain.com? should i keep the old domain if permanent redirect is done? what about the backlinks i created for the old domain should i change it manually? thoughts and suggestions appreciated from all webmasters and seos.

  2. #2
    stronywwwlublin's Avatar
    stronywwwlublin is offline IM & SEO Small Talker stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    601
    Thanks Given
    77
    Thanked 192 Times in 106 Posts
    It is many way to 301 redirect but this script works always!

    <?php
    header("HTTP/1.1 301 Moved Permanently");
    header("Location: http://www.yournewdomain.ltd".$_SERVER['REQUEST_URI']);
    header("Connection: close");
    exit;
    ?>

    The power of old links will be redirect to new domain, but remember to be always owner of 301d domain with BL!

    ---------- Post added 12-14-2011 at 11:31 AM ----------

    another "standard" htaccess 301 script

    (redirect with www and without prefix)


    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.olddomain.com(.*) [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://newdomain.com/$1 [R=301,L]

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to stronywwwlublin For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Alan Smith is offline IM & SEO Weak Jaw Alan Smith will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    184
    Thanks Given
    0
    Thanked 63 Times in 53 Posts
    Hey guys believe or not but I heard 301 redirects do not fully pass the PageRank and Link value from the redirect.
    Last edited by Alan Smith; 09-11-2012 at 03:54 AM.

  5. #4
    stronywwwlublin's Avatar
    stronywwwlublin is offline IM & SEO Small Talker stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    601
    Thanks Given
    77
    Thanked 192 Times in 106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Smith View Post
    Hey guy believe or not but i heard 301 redirects do not fully pass the PageRank and Link value from the redirect.
    "heard"? LOL I heard Presley singing yesturday in my city Just test it yourself! that is SEO

  6. #5
    Hogward is offline IM & SEO Mumbler Hogward is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    330
    Thanks Given
    11
    Thanked 36 Times in 29 Posts
    At the same time its better not to do too much of redirected pages. If you found some pages in old domain generates no traffic and no PR value means, its better to remove it and replace it with new domain page rather than to redirect.

  7. #6
    vincent is offline IM & SEO Quiet One vincent is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Given
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^olddomain$ [NC]
    RewriteRule (.*) newdomain$1 [R=301,L]

    or

    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^olddomain(.*) [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ newdomain$1 [R=301,L]

    or

    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteBase /
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^olddomain$ [NC]
    RewriteRule (.*) newdomain$1 [R=301,L]

    I searched all the 301 redirect codes and these are the following codes i came across. I'm really confused with the following codes, which one is correct and working? Some code don't have $ symbol etc, which one i should follow? If anybody did 301 redirect using .htaccess file do share the correct working code.

  8. #7
    wink0r's Avatar
    wink0r is offline Moderator wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold wink0r is a splendid one to behold
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    2,183
    Thanks Given
    941
    Thanked 651 Times in 491 Posts
    If you have cpanel hosting there is probably a 'redirects' wizard in the domains section that will write the proper code for the version of server software installed on the server, just fill in the blanks.

  9. #8
    vincent is offline IM & SEO Quiet One vincent is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Given
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wink0r View Post
    If you have cpanel hosting there is probably a 'redirects' wizard in the domains section that will write the proper code for the version of server software installed on the server, just fill in the blanks.
    Thanks for the response, but i'm using Yahoo Small Business and they don't have redirects wizard. If anyone can vouch for correct working code using .htaccess file it'd be of great help for me.

  10. #9
    stronywwwlublin's Avatar
    stronywwwlublin is offline IM & SEO Small Talker stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about stronywwwlublin has a spectacular aura about
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    601
    Thanks Given
    77
    Thanked 192 Times in 106 Posts
    In first post, I put two differnet 301 codes, one in php, and one with htaccess file. Just use one of them


 

Similar Threads

  1. How to make a link redirect?
    By nescio in forum Website Planning, Design & Development
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-13-2012, 08:41 AM
  2. redirect a site
    By hdhsiuo in forum General SEO Talk
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-22-2011, 01:44 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-15-2010, 03:29 PM
  4. Can SEO works for redirect URL?
    By EC0416 in forum General SEO Talk
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-16-2010, 09:32 AM
  5. Sandbox after 301 redirect
    By kargaa in forum Google
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-31-2010, 09:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts